A lot of bang for my buck!

Image

This past November I bought myself a die press because my students and I love textured paper and the die press enables us to make our own. The machine was on sale at a significantly reduced price on Black Friday, and though I generally try to avoid shopping then, I did make a special trip to the scrapbooking store to buy one. I also bought a package of two of the plastic sleeves that are needed to make textured paper.

Image

The die press sat in my bedroom until January when I finally brought it to school to test it out.  After we tried the machine out for the first time I bought 4 more because it was such a hit, and I figured having six to choose from would give a nice variety. At about $12.00 for two, I figured I will gradually collect more over time.

The plastic texture sleeves are not very large, only about 3 1/2 inches X 5 inches, so we began by using small pieces of paper. Then one of my students folded a whole piece of paper in quarters and we discovered that an entire piece of paper could be textured at once!

The next discovery one of my students made was that if you color lightly on the textured paper the colored pencil or marker will only cover the raised bits thus making it possible to further play around with the texture or emphasize it even more. And then another student realized the plastic texture sleeves could be used without the die press as a textured rubbing plate.

Image

Students of all ages have absolutely adored making their own textured papers and as the operation is simple even very young children can do it easily. About two weeks ago during a printmaking demo we discovered that we could put thin styrofoam sheets into the press and make textured  impressions on that. Then I wondered if I might actually be able to use the die press like a printing press. With the right combination of cardboard height we were also able to use it like a press.

Image

Yesterday I had some self adhesive craft foam which we were using in creating our collograph plates. We got the idea to try that and see if it would also take an impression. It did and the results were great!  We also tried cardboard but sadly it didn’t take an impression at all.

Image

So….I don’t know if you’ll really save all that much on purchasing pre-textured papers from art suppliers when you consider the initial purchase price and the price of plastic texture sleeves. I do know you can use this product in a lot more ways than I had first thought, and maybe we’ll discover more! But it’s sturdy, easy to operate, kid friendly, and most importantly fun! (And I’m not being paid by the manufacturer to tell this to you!)

Image

About francifularts

I am an independent art educator. I had my first experience teaching ceramics when I was 24 and worked in the University for Youth program at the University of Denver. As an elementary school teacher I always found myself integrating the arts across the curriculum, which led to me working as an artist in the schools. In May of 2008 I began a master's program with Lesley University in their Creative Arts in Learning Program. It was a truly transformative and incredible experience which led me to decide to devote the rest of my teaching career to teaching art, and through the arts. About the same time that I completed my master's degree in January of 2011 I was hired to teach art in two different programs. I have never been happier in my work as a teacher, and I really appreciate the wonderful professors and cohort of fellow teachers I studied with at Lesley University. I also want to thank all of the wonderful arts educators that I have met online through the TAB/choice list serv for their thoughtful posts and insightful suggestions for teaching art!
This entry was posted in art education, art processes, creativity, reflections on art making and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

