Let’s let our children play

Play is essential and important! Play with your children and students! Playing is where the most meaningful learning happens!

Mummy Says...

There are many things my toddler is good at, but when it comes to playtime, the Little Mister has got it sorted. He’s 18-months-old, and he’s one little boy who likes to play. In fact, he loves to play. And what does he do? Or how does he do it? It is all by instinct. Of course it is.

funnyplay

Which is why when I read this article in the New York Post on playdates I felt immediately saddened and like the world had gone a little bit crazier while I wasn’t looking. In the ‘exclusive’ expose, we’re told that posh Manhattan parents are spending US$400 an hour on ‘recreation experts’ for their four-year-olds. They set up playdates and then teach them how to play. The aim of the game is, ultimately, to get these little people into exclusive private schools. The playdates are intended to help them impress the admissions…

View original post 525 more words

About francifularts

I am an independent art educator. I had my first experience teaching ceramics when I was 24 and worked in the University for Youth program at the University of Denver. As an elementary school teacher I always found myself integrating the arts across the curriculum, which led to me working as an artist in the schools. In May of 2008 I began a master's program with Lesley University in their Creative Arts in Learning Program. It was a truly transformative and incredible experience which led me to decide to devote the rest of my teaching career to teaching art, and through the arts. About the same time that I completed my master's degree in January of 2011 I was hired to teach art in two different programs. I have never been happier in my work as a teacher, and I really appreciate the wonderful professors and cohort of fellow teachers I studied with at Lesley University. I also want to thank all of the wonderful arts educators that I have met online through the TAB/choice list serv for their thoughtful posts and insightful suggestions for teaching art!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

