Beware of the Chompers!

I’m finally starting to have fun on my job!  Here’s what we’ve been up to this week!

We made fresh peanut butter with my Champion juicer and then made peanut butter playdough so we could create hedgehogs and other critters.

We made fresh peanut butter with my Champion juicer and then made peanut butter playdough so we could create hedgehogs and other critters.

This hedgehog's got a mohawk!

This hedgehog’s got a mohawk!

Paper plates turned out to be quite an inspiration for my young artists!

One of my quiet student's has really shown a flair for painting and drawing in the last few weeks!

One of my quiet student’s has really shown a flair for painting and drawing in the last few weeks! I just love how the little bit of orange in this drawing has so much impact against the blues and greens!

Two girls were proud to tell me they were creating a picture together. I was excited to tell them, “It’s wonderful to see you collaborating!
P1080952 I like how the children combined two types of building materials and the stuffed animals in this creation. I imagine the animals were vying for who would be king of the hill!

P1080954 This week our special letter was H. I saw a simple craft to create a house on Pinterest. I love how my students made such a variety of houses!

L. had so much fun narrating the story about his haunted house. He kept adding more and more monsters and creatures and the story became quite detailed. I wrote down his story and tried to get everyone else's down too. They can talk so much faster than I can write!

L. had so much fun narrating the story about his haunted house. He kept adding more and more monsters and creatures and the story became quite detailed. I wrote down his story and tried to get everyone else’s down too. They can talk so much faster than I can write!

Love the textures and feeling of movement in this piece by R.

Love the textures and feeling of movement in this piece by R.

P1080967 Katelynn's house

Love how the glue looks like snow in this collage! I also love the fact that she cut it out and didn’t have a rectangular picture like everyone else.

.... came but dad slept in the closet.     Pretty amazing story for a five year old!  Love how she included three dimensional pieces in her creation. Those are the chompers and you better watch out, because they might chomp on you!

…. came but dad slept in the closet.
Pretty amazing story for a five year old! Love how she included three dimensional pieces in her creation. Those are the chompers and you better watch out, because they might chomp on you!

Happy Halloween!

About francifularts

I am an independent art educator. I had my first experience teaching ceramics when I was 24 and worked in the University for Youth program at the University of Denver. As an elementary school teacher I always found myself integrating the arts across the curriculum, which led to me working as an artist in the schools. In May of 2008 I began a master's program with Lesley University in their Creative Arts in Learning Program. It was a truly transformative and incredible experience which led me to decide to devote the rest of my teaching career to teaching art, and through the arts. About the same time that I completed my master's degree in January of 2011 I was hired to teach art in two different programs. I have never been happier in my work as a teacher, and I really appreciate the wonderful professors and cohort of fellow teachers I studied with at Lesley University. I also want to thank all of the wonderful arts educators that I have met online through the TAB/choice list serv for their thoughtful posts and insightful suggestions for teaching art!
Aside | This entry was posted in creativity, early childhood art education, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

