I’m Feeling the Luck O’ the Irish!

Image

One of my students helped write a list of words for our class during X week. I really like her fancy way of writing the letter S! It’s amazing how fancying up that one letter creates a font-like effect. Love her accompanying illustration too! Her dad noticed the sign and immediately recognized her personal artistic voice!

Exciting news!  I found my camera! It had been missing for two months, and last Friday I asked a coworker if he had seen it, and he had it in his office!  He told me that someone found it in the parking lot and turned it in to him. I knew I had grabbed it from my classroom, but I assumed that it had gotten misplaced in the shuffle at home. I had searched my classroom, the art studio, the main office, and my house. The memory card is missing, but I had a spare!

It’s Saint Patrick’s Day today, and I made green smoothies today with my students. We used spinach, green apples, pineapple, banana, and green grapes as well as some almond milk. The kids absolutely loved the smoothies. We went through about five quarts with 18 children! I tested it out on my own personal teenage sons at home tonight. Sadly…they aren’t as adventurous as my kindergarten students! (And I didn’t even tell them it had spinach in it!)

I also set up some precut rainbow colored paper strips, black cauldron shapes, shamrock shapes, yellow circles for gold coins, star stickers, and tempera paint. My morning students got the idea to make cauldrons they could put coins in by stapling two cauldrons together. They also decided to make leprechaun hats and beards.  This meant doing some problem solving to figure out how to create hats. We ended up deciding to make headbands and then staple hat shapes to the headbands. The bright orange paper beards were quite a sight!

The sticker stars were a big hit. I had a child that made a face on the cauldron using stars. I had another write his name and surround it with stars. I had another cover the handle of the cauldron with stars. In the afternoon one of my students painted a cloud and rainbow on her cauldron. Another student cut a different colored square for each letter of her name making a rainbow across her cauldron. Though I have to admit….that I prefer studio time when kids generate their own topics, it was nice to see how many different ways the children explored the St. Patrick’s Day theme with the available materials.

Image

Last week was Z week and one of the prompts I put out for the students was zigzag shaped paper strips. I was able to use up some interesting scrap papers as well as some colorful construction paper. One of my students  even created her own Zentangle style designs on her zigzags. She was justifiably proud of the way she wrote her name with zigzag letters too!

Image

Here are some additional pieces of Zig zag art:

Image

The one below is made by a little boy that’s crazy about the Seahawks and for the past two months all of his art work has been Seahawks green and blue. I like how he created some three dimensional zigzags!

P1100614

Hope you enjoy your Saint Patrick’s Day! I’m toasting mine with a Guiness as well as a green smoothie!

About francifularts

I am an independent art educator. I had my first experience teaching ceramics when I was 24 and worked in the University for Youth program at the University of Denver. As an elementary school teacher I always found myself integrating the arts across the curriculum, which led to me working as an artist in the schools. In May of 2008 I began a master's program with Lesley University in their Creative Arts in Learning Program. It was a truly transformative and incredible experience which led me to decide to devote the rest of my teaching career to teaching art, and through the arts. About the same time that I completed my master's degree in January of 2011 I was hired to teach art in two different programs. I have never been happier in my work as a teacher, and I really appreciate the wonderful professors and cohort of fellow teachers I studied with at Lesley University. I also want to thank all of the wonderful arts educators that I have met online through the TAB/choice list serv for their thoughtful posts and insightful suggestions for teaching art!
Aside | This entry was posted in early childhood art education, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

