Fun with Portfolios

I haven’t posted to my blog for over two years. I got lost in a haze of teacher exhaustion and two different teaching jobs which were just not the best fit. I’m back teaching at the homeschool program and loving every minute of it! If I’d had the ability to predict the future I would have stayed there and not dipped  my toe in the water anywhere else! Oh well….I pushed my boundaries, and I can honestly say, I am so happy to be back at my best job ever.

This week I made cardboard portfolios for my drawing and painting students. I collected cardboard from Costco. They have large flat pieces of cardboard that they lay between layers of things like laundry soap. I have used them for so many art classroom projects and things the last six or seven years. I brought the portfolios to school along with some rainbow colored sharpies. I asked the students to personalize their portfolios. My only requirements were that their names were visible. We had such fun drawing and listening to music. some students decorated both the front and the back.

Today at my painting class one of my students drew a silly face on the back of her portfolio. I was taking photos of the portfolio art and she held it in front of her face. Soon  all the students in that class were drawing silly faces so they could also hold their art up, and look like blockheads.  The next thing I knew they were adding more details and wanting additional photos. It was one of those moments where student engagement was high and everyone was happy to be at school. Play is such an important part of the art classroom, and being open to it makes for memorable moments, and incredible learning opportunities and discoveries !

Here are some additional photos of the  portfolios!

 

About francifularts

I am an independent art educator. I had my first experience teaching ceramics when I was 24 and worked in the University for Youth program at the University of Denver. As an elementary school teacher I always found myself integrating the arts across the curriculum, which led to me working as an artist in the schools. In May of 2008 I began a master's program with Lesley University in their Creative Arts in Learning Program. It was a truly transformative and incredible experience which led me to decide to devote the rest of my teaching career to teaching art, and through the arts. About the same time that I completed my master's degree in January of 2011 I was hired to teach art in two different programs. I have never been happier in my work as a teacher, and I really appreciate the wonderful professors and cohort of fellow teachers I studied with at Lesley University. I also want to thank all of the wonderful arts educators that I have met online through the TAB/choice list serv for their thoughtful posts and insightful suggestions for teaching art!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

